Home Forums Here to Listen (Any Other Topics) Food Reply To: Food

#5433

Alaykum Walsalam

1. “Also could you please clarify if crustacea is halal or haram” – It is not permissible to eat from marine animals anything except fish that has scale; shrimp is considered from that category [of permissible sea animals]. But other than fish, like lobster, and similarly the fish that does not have scale is forbidden

2. If a particular food item has all halal ingredients in the ingredients section, however it says in the “may contain” section it contains an ingredient such as Crustacea is that food substance haram to consume, despite us not knowing whether or not that food actually contains such ingredient – if you have doubt, then you have to make sure it doesn’t contain any haram ingredients

3. If a food item contains fish in the ingredients, however the type of fish is not specified are we still allowed to consume this food, because we are unaware of the fish source and is it our duty to further research or is that not compulsory?- you need to make sure that the fish is from the halal category.

ref: https://www.sistani.org/english/qa/01251/

Please don’t forget us from your dua..

Menu
× Talk to the Sheikh